Submit this short form and one of our experts will contact you for FREE.Why let us help?
According to the 2012 Genworth Financial cost of care survey, the average cost of assisted living in Arkansas is $2,810 per month.
The monthly base rate for Arkansas assisted living is typically lower when compared to neighboring states. Arkansas is also less expensive compared to the national average.
This cost is the base cost for a one-bedroom assisted living unit in Arkansas. Additional fees beyond the base rate may apply.
Monthly Costs Compared to Neighboring States
Arkansas defines Assisted Living Facilities as a building or part of a building that is in the business of providing assisted living services for more than 24 hours, to more than three adult residents staying at the facility. Assisted living services are provided directly or through a written arrangement. An assisted living facility provides a minimum of services assisting residents in performing all activities of daily living during a 24-hour period. All facilities in Arkansas are designated as Level I or Level II Assisted Living.
The facility may supervise and assist its residents with day-to-day activities. Level I facilities provide 24-hour staff supervision with assistance in emergency care available as well Assistance with social, recreational, with transportation; linen service; three meals a day; and medication assistance is given. Level II facilities offer services that help a resident with routine care daily personal needs, and with medication to the extent allowed by the state's Nurse Practice Act. The assessment for residents with medical needs is completed by a registered nurse (RN). For Third Party Scope of Care In Level I facilities, home health services are provided by a certified home health agency on a short-term basis only.
The facility is not allowed to admit or keep residents whose needs are greater than the facility is licensed to provide. Level I facilities are prohibited from providing services to residents who: (1) Need 24-hour nursing services except as certified by a licensed home health agency for a period of 60 days with a 30- day extension; (2) Are bedridden; (3) Have transfer assistance needs that the facility is unable to meet due to staffing; or (4) Present a danger to themselves or others, or who engage in criminal activities. Level II facilities cannot provide services to residents who: (1) Need 24-hour nursing services; (2) Are bedridden; (3) Have a temporary (no more than 14 consecutive days) or terminal condition unless a doctor or advanced practice nurse certifies the resident's needs can be safely met by a service agreement created d by the attending physician or advanced practice nurse and the resident; (4) Have transfer assistance needs that the facility is unable to meet due to staffing; or (5) Present a danger to themselves or others, or who engage in criminal activities.
There is no required form, and each resident must have an initial evaluation completed by the assisted living residence.
Staff working in a Level I Facility must provide assistance that enables residents to self-administer medications. For Level II facilities a licensed nursing personnel may administer medication.
An apartment or unit is required to be single occupancy except when residents are husband and wife, or are two consenting adults who have requested and agreed in writing to share an apartment or unit. An apartment or unit cannot be occupied by more than two people, and each apartment or unit must have a separate and complete bathroom with a toilet, bathtub or shower, and sink.
A full-time administrator must be designated by each assisted living facility. A second administrator must be employed either part-time or full-time, depending on how many beds are in the facility. For Level I facilities, an appropriate number of staff must be available to meet the needs of residents and to meet the staffing ratios explained in regulation. Level II facilities are required to employ or contract with at least one RN, licensed practical nurses, certified nursing assistants (CNAs), and personal care aides. At minimum the RN must be available by phone or pager. The facility must have maintain a ratio of one staff person per 15 residents from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m., and one staff person per 25 residents from 8 p.m. to 7 a.m. One CAN must be on the premises per shift. The administrator must be at least 21 years old, have a high school diploma or GED, have successfully completed a state criminal background check, and be a certified Assisted Living Facility Administrator through a state-approved certification program. All staff must complete six hours of ongoing education and training each year. Every staff member, including contracted personnel, must complete orientation and training on the following within seven days of hire: building safety and emergency measures; required response to emergencies; abuse, neglect, and financial exploitation and reporting requirements; incident reporting; sanitation and food safety; resident health and related problems; overview of the job's requirements; philosophy and principles of independent living in an assisted living residence; and Residents' Bill of Rights. Within 30 days of hire staff must receive training in medication assistance or monitoring; communicable diseases; and dementia and cognitive impairment; and within 180 calendar days from date of hire: communication skills; review of the aging process, and disability sensitivity training.
A Medicaid state plan service will reimburse for personal care services. A Level II facility provides care and services to individuals who are medically eligible for nursing home level-of care, and its patients will receive services through the Medicaid 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver.
The State of Arkansas offers the Medicaid Living Choices Assisted Living Waiver that provides long term care at state licensed assisted living residences. The waiver is designed for the elderly and physically disabled individuals and prevents needless institutionalization. It is administered by the State of Arkansas, Division of Aging and Adult Services. This is an HCBS Waiver which means there are enrollment caps. HCBS is not considered an entitlement program and may have a waiting list.
Here is a list of the Arkansas Waivers:
The Alternatives for Adults with Physical Disabilities Waiver allow participants between the ages of 21-64 - needing intermediate nursing home care - to remain living at home and in the community. The services include: attendant care and environmental modification. Participants of the program must be competent to supervise the providers they choose from the eligible list. There is no waiting list.
The Alternative Community Services Waiver is for persons with mental retardation and developmental disabilities who meet the intermediate care facilities for persons with mental retardation level of care to remain living at home and in the community. There is a waiting list.
Elder Choices Waiver is designed for the aged 65+ who meet the nursing facility level of care to remain living at home and in the community as an alternative to institutionalization. The services eligible in this program are: adult day care, adult foster care, chore and homemaker services, home delivered meals, emergency response, and respite care. There is no waiting list.
Living Choices / Assisted Living Facility Waiver allows participants aged 21+ who meet the intermediate nursing home level of care to remain living in the community. Services include 24-hour supervision and limited nursing services. There is no waiting list.
TEFRA Waiver better known as the Katie Beckett option, allows children 18 or under with disabilities to be served in the community without regard to the family's income. This waiver is designed to ensure that children with disabilities get the care they need in a community-based setting regardless of what their families can pay. The TEFRA program is coordinated by the Office of Long Term Care. For more information about the program, contact the Office of Long Term Care at (501) 682-8473.
Inclusive benefits covered: (I had the following listed in 2 columns but Google docs stripped the formating)
- Assisted living services
- Attendant care
- Extended prescription drug coverage
- Medication oversight and administration
- Non-medical transportation
- Nursing evaluations and some nursing services
- Pharmacist consultant services
- Social and recreational activities
- Case management
- Consultation services
- Crisis center; crisis intervention
- Supported living
- Residential habilitation supports
- Companion and activities therapies
- Community experiences
- Non-medical transportation
- Supported employment
- Adaptive equipment
- environmental modifications
- Specialized medical supports
- Supplemental supports
What state department in Arkansas handles the Medicaid waiver program?
Department of Human Services, Office of Long Term Care Phone (501) 682-8468
Contact: Cindy Scoggins Phone (501) 682-6970
Web Site: http://www.state.ar.us/dhs/aging/assistedliving.html and
What is the best number to call to get started? Call the intake and referral office at (501) 683-5687.
Is there a website? http://humanservices.arkansas.gov/ddds
Much of the information above was adapted from the National Center of Assisted Living 2010 Regulatory Review.
License information source: Arkansas DHS Devision of Aging and Adult Services
North Little Rock